Gariwerd Six Seasons

According to the traditional owners of the Grampians, there are six distinct weather periods recognised in the Gariwerd (Grampians) seasonal cycle. These seasons relate to climatic features and also reference environmental events such as plant flowering, fruiting and animal behavioural patterns. Visit Brambuk – The National Park & Cultural Centre in Halls Gap to learn more. 

For thousands of years, the lives of the Jardwadjali and Djab Wurrung have been intimately linked to this seasonal cycle.